MICHIGAN, SUPPER DRUNK, HIGH BAC LAW
Beginning October 31, 2010, a new Operating While Intoxicated offense, more commonly referred to as a High BAC offense, has been created for individuals convicted of operating a motor vehicle with a BAC of .17 grams or more. High BAC is a misdemeanor and carries the following penalties:
- Up to 180 days in jail.
- A fine of at least $200 but not more than $700.
- Up to 360 hours of community service.
- One year license suspension. The Secretary of State may issue a restricted license 45 days after the suspension starts if the person is otherwise eligible. Proof of installation of an ignition interlock device is required before a restricted license will be issued.
- A restricted license will permit the individual to operate a vehicle equipped with an ignition interlock
- device under the following circumstances:
- To and from residence and employment, and during employment;
- To and from alcohol or drug education or treatment program;
- To and from regularly scheduled treatment for serious medical condition;
- To and from probation, community service and school.
Nationwide Interlock is the only company I use for my clients. Nationwide Interlock can be reached at 248-994-3000 www.nationwideinterlock.com Nationwide has installation location throughout the state of Michigan.
Central Michigan Lawyer Todd Levitt has been representing Drunk Drivers and specializing in Drivers License Restoration for more than 18years. Todd cann be reached at 989-772-6000 for a free consultation.